2018 Bowls Section Report

2018 Bowls Section Report

By Richard Fennah
8th December 2018
Share via

A summary of the 2018 season for the bowls section

The Bowls section continued to hold their internal competitions over the summer and whilst attendances were a little down the following winners and runners-up were recorded: -

Date Competition Winner(s) Runner(s)-Up

Thu 12th Apr Secretary v. Chairman Secretary’s Team Chairman’s Team
Sat 28th Apr Wheeler Cup Ernest Chapman Sylvia Hunt
Sat 5th May Pairs Competition Joan Lawrence Helen Roberts
& Frances Marmion & Kevin Owens
Sun 13th May Billeau Cup Teresa Roberts Pauline Keown
Sun 13th May Hebblethwaite Cup Keith Crompton Kevin Owens
Tue 5th Jun Day Out (Stanley Arms) Gentlemen Ladies
Sat 23rd Jun Ladies’ Veterans Trophy Mo Kellett Ann Hanmer
Sat 23rd Jun Men’s Veterans Trophy Keith Crompton Kevin Owens
Tue 10th Jul Wolstenholme Cup Pat Crompton Jilly Hopewell-Taylor
& Peter Crompton & Kevin Owens
Thu 19th Jul Prenton v. Oxton Prenton Oxton
Thu 2nd Aug Audrey McPherson Cup Pauline Keown Ian Bell
& Kevin Owens & Fred Foulkes
Sat 4th Aug Merit Singles Sylvia Hunt Colin Burgess
Sat 4th Aug Merit Singles (Plate) Audrey Garner Pauline Keown
Thu 16th Aug Day Out (Stanley Arms) Ladies Gentlemen
Sat 18th Aug Handicapped Singles Kevin Owens Sylvia Hunt
Sat 18th Aug Hdcpd. Singles (Plate) Brian Hanmer David Blackburn
Sun 2nd Sep DE Morris Salver Mo Kellett Brenda Squire
Sun 2nd Sep EV Howard Trophy Harry Keown Peter Crompton
Tue 18th Sep President’s Main Kevin Owens Ed Thomas

As full members of Oxton C&SC, Penketh Argyle entered a team in both the Birkenhead & Wirral Evening League (Division 4) and The Ellesmere Port Bowling League, Veterans (Division 3). Both teams finished 5th out of 9 teams after a season affected by illness and injury to a couple of regular bowlers.
The reduced availability of bowlers did give the opportunity to some of the social bowlers at Oxton to try their hands at league bowling. They all enjoyed their games and will strengthen the league teams for the future.

At the recent Annual General Meetings of the league and social sides of the bowls section, several decisions were made that will hopefully enable and encourage more members to take part in more competitions next year.
The number of competitions is to be reviewed with the idea of reducing their actual number and scheduling them after the league fixtures have been produced to give as many members as possible to opportunity to take part.

These, along with the adoption of the club name ‘Oxton Argyle’ (for both league and social purposes) and the renovations to the bowling green will probably make for an interesting 2019 season.

Going forward the following members agreed to stand and were confirmed for the 2019 season: -

For Social Section and League teams: -
President: - Bill Burgess
Chairman: - Brian Hanmer
Vice Chair: - Sylvia Hunt

For the Social Section: -
Secretary: - Mo Kellett
Competitions Organiser: - Kevin Owens
Committee Members: - Harry Keown
Deryk Jones
Joan Lawrence
Syd Roberts
For the League Teams: -
Secretary: - Ed Thomas
Treasurer: - Phil Gordon
Evening Team Captain: - David Blackburn
Afternoon (Vets) Team Captain: - Kevin Owens
Trophy Secretary: - John Benstead
Social Secretary: - Derek Potter
Competitions Organiser: - Kevin Owens

Share via